New User Groups: Make Your App A Personal Experience

Mobile apps are versatile communication tools with diverse user demands. Those diversified user needs can now be serviced even better with our latest addition: users groups for the lock block.

Hiding certain parts of an app for the general public is a greatly appreciated feature in our app management system. Many app owners use one or more so called ‘lock blocks’ to disclose confidential information just to certain users, making the app a more personal experience.

Examples of lock blocks are student photo’s or homework assignments in school apps, phone numbers or classified reports in internal communication apps, patient related information in medical apps or attendee information in event apps.

Access control becomes easier

With the addition of user groups for the lock block, access control of your app becomes a lot easier and expands your possibilities to make the app a tailored personal experience, even for a large amount of users .

Before the introduction of user groups you had to use the authorization level option (boss, manager, employee) for each registered user. This was fine for small business apps, but was too limited to satisfy a large number of user groups in one app.

At your request we have expanded the limited user roles to unlimited user groups. As an app owner you now define your own user groups and give each group the right to access parts of your app. Users can be part of several groups so you have endless possibilities to service your diversified users with one app.

Benefits of user groups

After you have assigned a user to a group, the user is authorized to access the specific parts of the app. So if you own a school app, each user in the ‘parents group A’ automatically is authorized to see photo’s of that school class. If parents have kids in class A and C, they’ll be entitled to see those parts of the app with the events, photo´s or assignments just for those groups.

students teacher app

With user groups, only ‘sales managers’ can be authorized to see sales reports or use their own forms. Or your app supplies manuals and information for employees on a need to know base.

If you have a sports app, just the coaches are entitled to see training exercises or to track their pupils’ progress. Each team can be given their own exclusive part in the app for news, schedules and even videos. The rest of the users get a message ‘you’re not authorized for this part’

App owner assigns user to a group

So how do user groups work? Each user that registers in the app has to wait for permission of the app owner. The app owner classifies the user and assigns the user to one or more groups. Consequently, access is automatically given for the specific lock block. Your app keeps functioning well for other user groups or non-registered users, but they’re just not entitled to see the locked parts.

New user groups

  • Define your own groups and names;
  • Users register and wait for permission;
  • App owner assigns user to a group;
  • Authorize each group as you want;
  • Membership to several groups;
  • Service diversified user needs.

user roles

Needless to say you still have the possibility to use the other unlock features in our app CMS such as a password, QR code or GPS location.

Please note that selling access to content within an app is not supported by Brandgarden and could be grounds for suspension from the app stores if included in the app.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This